Ice cream sandwiches on the streets of Chiangmai a.k.a “Chiangma-Ice-Cream Sandwiches”

Seeing as today was the office charity bake sale, I thought I’d extend this sweetness into today’s LONG OVERDUE blog post… I baked an awesome Victoria Sponge Cake with a blackcurrant and raspberry jam and vanilla orange zest buttercream filling… but I digress, onto today’s post!!

Target locked. Approaching target in t-3 seconds.

Target locked. Approaching target in t-3 seconds.

Whilst exploring the inner streets of Chiangmai this December, I came across this Thai ice-cream stall….. She was selling ice-cream sandwiches, the perfect refreshment for a hot day.

Assembly begins... Mini scoops of ice cream, topped with salted peanuts between two hygenically packed slices of bread. (Customers are asked if they want optional sticky rice and condensed milk- very popular among the Thais)

Assembly begins… Mini scoops of ice cream, topped with salted peanuts between two hygenically packed slices of bread. (Customers are asked if they want sticky rice and condensed milk in their sandwich- very popular among the Thais)

Another customer holds their sandwich for my camera!

Another customer holds their sandwich for my camera!

 

To say the very least, I was very impressed with the hygiene measures observed by this humble stall owner. Her bread was packaged in little plastic pockets, pre-sliced and ready for filling. The ice-cream was so light, I don’t know whether it was made with milk or a milk substitute but it wasn’t heavy at all. I think it was very delicately flavoured with lychee juice… but it was delicious, cooling and very satisfying. The bread was light, almost like a thin slice of sponge but without a trace of butter, and the crunchy peanuts sealed the deal. I was tempted to eat another, but we were headed to a famous cafe for lunch, so I decided to save my appetite like a sensible person… unlike today where I ate WAY TOO MUCH CAKE and am craving a nice hot bowl of Pho to flush out all of the refined carbs, sugars and other ingredients of the devil that taste good but you have to work off at the gym the next day.  I will do just that tomorrow morning!

But anyway, next time you’re in Thailand, don’t hesitate to sample the frozen delights of your nearby ice-cream sandwich stall… and prepare to experience the lighter side of an ice-cream sandwich, served with an endearing smile!

One thought on “Ice cream sandwiches on the streets of Chiangmai a.k.a “Chiangma-Ice-Cream Sandwiches”

Leave a comment