Recipe # 19 Carrotsticks and Brownies’s Brownies a.k.a Carrotsticks and Brownies Turns 1!

WOOHOO! Happy Birthday CSAB! Well actually, it’s a little belated- 27th October 2012 is when the magic began but I was down with a case of man-flu (the worst kind…) and couldn’t write anything. To be fair, I haven’t written in a long time- please read explanation below!

Since June, I have had my head down with a new work routine- which means I need to balance my work and work-outs in a timely manner. I’ve still been finding places to write about and experimenting with new ideas at weekends (when I’m at home that is) but I haven’t made time to sit and write about all of my new experiences. Sitting around all day staring at a screen has me clawing at the walls by 5:30- so I’ve been doing Bikram and Ashtanga yoga classes twice a week (in true corporate-yuppie fashion) and hitting the gym the other days to free up tension in my muscles and clear my head. A clear head is a clever head- but also tired and ready for bed by 10pm. Interestingly, I am up at 11:23 determined to post this by midnight to tick this off my to-do list.

Seeing as I am “good” all week and the weekend is coming up and it’s this blog’s 1st Birthday I thought I would share my foolproof recipe for brownies…. 🙂

To make Carrotsticks and Brownies’s Brownies you need:

1 cup flour

3/4 cup brown sugar

200g dark chocolate -melted

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup chopped walnuts/pecans (optional)

2 eggs

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp good vanilla extract

A good pinch of salt

Method:

1) Plonk butter and sugar together (ready for creaming) in a large mixing bowl and break up the chocolate in a separate microwave-safe bowl.
2) Gently heat the chocolate in the microwave for 1.5 minutes (1000watts) at 30 second intervals or until the chocolate has melted. Don’t burn the chocolate— stir it after every mini blast.
3) Once you have successfully melted the chocolate, cream the butter and sugar together till light and fluffy. This will allow enough time for the chocolate to cool (cleverly timed cooking!) Add the eggs one at a time and then pour in the chocolate.
4) Next, sift the flour and baking powder and salt into the dark buttery clouds you’ve just created and fold along with the nuts.
5) Bake at 180c or 160 in a fan assisted oven for 25 minutes. Allow to cool completely for 10 minutes before cutting into squares and serving with vanilla ice cream– for which I will be posting an experimental recipe next! Double Whammy!

The result is a deliciously gooey batch of brownies fit for any celebration! *Please wait for pictures- I always forget to photograph these… by the time I remember they’re all gone!*

****UPDATE: 03 July 2014****Here are the pictures! Complete with next level plating and a salted almond crumb for your nouvelle cuisine enjoyment!!

20140703-142804.jpg

20140703-142814.jpg

20140703-142821.jpg

Leave a Reply

