Recipe #18 The Steaks are high– well actually, they’re a little drunk.

I looked in my larder and saw a bottle of Cointreau- I hadn’t used it in some time, so I thought I’d cook up a little experiment using two awesome flavours – orange and mint – in a main course!

By combining some mint sauce, a sprinkle of dried rosemary, salt, pepper, balsamic vinegar, cointreau, two lamb leg steaks and a sandwich bag- I created a super efficient and hygienic marinade capsule to massage the flavours into the meat. I let it sit for an hour.

In the meantime, I boiled up and peeled some charlotte potatoes and trimmed some fresh green beans, and finely sliced a clove of garlic.

In a wide frying pan I sautéed the garlic clove in a little olive oil and added the meat, sealing it very quickly on high before turning down the heat and basting it in its juices for about 6-8 minutes. I added another slug of cointreau to de-glaze the pan and continued basting the steaks for another 2 minutes before transferring them to a wooden board to slice them and let them rest back in the pan juices. (NB. I cooked this closer to the well-done end of the spectrum but feel free to adjust this to your tastes)

I pan roasted the potatoes in a little oil and salt and grilled the beans in the same pan- adding 1/4 tsp butter for a little shine and flavour.

Plating the potatoes, beans, and succulently soaked slices of meat resulted in this… with a final flourish of the pan juices, ready to serve.

Give it a go- it’s a fresh, satisfying take on lamb and mint… and the flavours are completely in balance.

Leave a Reply

