Recipe # 16: Nothing beats a little cheesy humour… get some cheese in your humours… a.k.a Cheese Bread!

Freshly baked, cheddar get munching. (Bad pun intended)

Freshly baked and sliced for the taste test…

Life has weird ways of teaching you lessons… today I learned not to allow anger to cloud my actions, because you can end up feeling really silly afterwards.

How, You say? Well I went to the local shops to purchase some milk and a pack of biscuits (emergency sugar supply for work- that sounds so odd to the ear… “for work”)… I was in a silent, angry, catatonic cloud.  I procured and solemnly placed the items at the till, paid for my shopping and began walking off  – WITHOUT MY MUNDANE PURCHASES. The cashier smirked and informed me of what I was doing… I wheeled around after taking one step, too focused on stashing my change in my wallet. I grinned idiotically at the cashier and claimed my shopping, thinking that the transition from stone-face to smiling stupidly would have been much more comfortable if I’d just have been smiling in the first place.  Bottom line: If you’re in a foul mood, chances are you won’t be in one for long, as you’ll do something silly like forget your shopping, or step in dog poo, or trip on a flat surface and you’ll be transported back to reality… with  a gentle reminder to laugh at yourself- in so doing, one gains maturity!

SPEAKING OF WHICH… YOU’RE GOING TO NEED A FAIR BIT OF MATURITY … IN THE CHEDDAR THAT GOES INTO THIS DELICIOUS RECIPE BELOW – *SEAMLESS TRANSITION! ALBEIT A LITTLE CHEESY WAAAAAHHH!! *

You will need:

175g Plain flour
70 ml olive oil
75g grated mature cheddar cheese
85 ml milk
1 egg
1.5 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp smoked paprika
2 tsp mixed dried herbs 🙂 you could even throw in some sundried tomatoes or olives if you have them to hand….

Method:

LITERALLY CHUCK EVERYTHING INTO A BOWL! MIX IT WELL AND BAKE IN A GREASED LOAF TIN FOR 20 MINUTES AT 180C OR 160 IN A FANCY FAN ASSISTED OVEN…
Enjoy while it’s hot with a little butter, tapenade, or even with a nice hot bowl of pumpkin soup…. watch this space for my  next recipe.

Till then, remember to smile more- or else you’ll be forced to, like I was today! 😀

Leave a Reply

