Carrotsticks and Brownies has no kitchen (edition 3): Sri Lankan Prawn Curry!

As you know, I’m posting recipes of dishes I’ve successfully cooked using my three weapons: a microwave, rice cooker, and a panini grill.

For yesterday night’s dinner I chose my rice cooker and microwave to create a delicious Sri Lankan Prawn Curry served with hot rice.

NB. I added spring greens to the curry for some green veg- the traditional curry doesn’t feature this, but I try to pack as many healthy ingredients into my cooking so that I am not only happy after a meal.. but healthier!  😛

NB (number two). A vegetarian version can be made by substituting the prawns with zucchini cut into 1/4″ slices and cut in half… so they are semi-circles, omitting the greens, and cooking them in the curry for about 15 minutes. 🙂 

As I had to make a curry, I couldn’t make rice in my rice cooker… SO I washed and cooked my rice in the microwave for 20 minutes in a high walled dish and prepared the prawn curry in the rice cooker. I have discovered it doubles up as an electric hotplate and pan…. so long as there’s enough liquid to make contact with the plate beneath… total cook time for the curry and rice is 20 minutes! So it’s very easy and very quick to make 🙂

To make the curry- hopefully in your kitchen, and not in a rice cooker (!)- you will need:

3 pcs green cardamom
1.5 tsp mustard seeds
2 whole dried red chillies
5-6 cloves
10-15 pcs whole black peppercorns
2 medium sized onions – finely sliced
2 small tomatoes – finely chopped
15-20 washed curry leaves
3 cloves garlic – finely sliced
1″ fresh ginger – finely chopped
2 tbsp tomato puree
1 tsp himalayan salt ( I use this because it’s free from chemicals and bleaching agents!)
1 tsp cinnamon powder
1 tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp cumin powder
1 tsp crushed red chilli flakes
300 ml coconut milk
300 ml water
200g sliced english greens
250g fresh king prawns
Juice of 1/2 a lemon
1 slit green chilli to garnish (optional)
2 tbsp olive oil

Method:

Put washed rice, with double the water into a high walled microwaveable dish and cook in the microwave on high for 20 minutes (this applies to 800-1000W appliances).

Turn on the rice cooker and heat up the oil. To the hot oil, you need to add the whole spices and let them sizzle until fragrant —> cardamom, mustard seeds, dried red chillies, cloves, black peppercorns, curry leaves.

Then you need to add the ginger, garlic, sliced onions, tomato puree, salt — (to add liquid or my rice cooker turns off!!) and sauté.

Then add the turmeric powder, cinnamon powder, cumin powder, crushed chill flakes and sauté for another minute or so…  then add the coconut milk and stir well. Add the water and spring greens and leave to boil for 10 minutes. Your rice will *ding* in about 10 minutes too…

Once the greens are cooked, add the prawns and cook them for about 1 minute. Add the lemon juice and green chilli. Serve immediately with the rice which should, if your timing was spot on, be ready 😉

I only took pictures of the curry in the rice cooker because I was too hungry to plate my food nicely and take a picture…. appreciate the honesty! haha! So here is my finished prawn curry with spring greens in its rice cooker receptacle… the lighting’s not great, but it’s a good illustration of how I manage… or am managing.

Image

Leave a Reply

