Carrotsticksandbrownies has no kitchen… :S BUT HERE’S RECIPE #10- THE RICE COOKER CHALLENGE!

So.. for the next three weeks, while my kitchen is being renovated, I have no kitchen, and most of my tools and ingredients are in boxes, so I’m working with basic inputs…. There are no fridges per se, gas flames on which to sauté, boil, stir-fry or anything else. I have a kettle and three appliances with which to prepare my meals. THIS IS LIKE A STRANGE GAME SHOW WHERE THE CHALLENGE IS, COOK MEALS WITHOUT A COOKER!  My three appliances are: a microwave, a panini grill with variable heat settings and, a rice cooker with a steaming tray.

For today’s “dinner challenge” I chose the rice cooker and due to my limited storage space for ingredients… I had to work with:
-charlotte potatoes
-some fresh giant asparagus sticks
-one red pepper
-chives
-dijon mustard
-extra virgin olive oil
-sherry vinegar
-some chilli flakes and garlic salt
-honey

Given my rice cooker steams stuff pretty darn well… I had a cunning plan to create a one pot dish/ warm salad by steaming the potatoes and asparagus separately, making a dressing of some sort and adding in the red pepper at the end for variations in texture 🙂

Slicing and steaming is very simple— so I’ll give you the recipe for the dressing in which I tossed my steamed potatoes and asparagus.

Dressing-

Extra virgin olive oil – 6-7 tbsp
Sherry Vinegar- 2-3 tbsp
Garlic salt- 1/2 tsp
Black pepper- 1/2 tsp
Chilli flakes- 1/2 tsp
Dijon mustard- 1.5  tsp
Honey 1 tsp
Chopped chives- a good bunch.

Mix all of this together in a bowl and add the steamed vegetables quickly and then the chopped pepper. Its a surprisingly fast and very satisfying meal!

No kitchen challenge – 0 CSAB – 1

I WON TODAY’S CHALLENGE… LET’S SEE WHAT TO COOK TOMORROW. HA! Yes, the picture has very very yellow lighting, apologies. 🙂

photo

Leave a Reply

